Beterbiev vs. Deines *** Postponed ***

When:
23. October 2020 all-day America/New York Timezone
2020-10-23T00:00:00-04:00
2020-10-24T00:00:00-04:00
Where:
Moscow, Russia
Moscow
Russia

Artur Beterbiev-Adam Deines Light Heavyweight World Title Showdown Postponed

(September 12, 2020) —WBC/IBF light heavyweight world champion Artur Beterbiev’s Oct. 23 title defense in Moscow against Adam Deines has been postponed after Beterbiev suffered a rib injury in training. Beterbiev-Deines is expected to be rescheduled before the end of the year.

Beterbiev (15-0, 15 KOs), the only current world champion with a 100 percent knockout rate, has not fought since his 10th-round stoppage victory over Oleksandr Gvozdyk last October to unify world titles.

###

Friday, October 23
Artur Beterbiev (15-0, 15 KOs) vs. Adam Deines (19-1-1, 10 KOs)
Moscow – 12 Rounds, Beterbiev’s WBC/IBF Light Heavyweight World Titles
ESPN & ESPN Deportes, 2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT
Undercard: ESPN+, 12 p.m. ET/9 a.m. PT

Boxing’s only world champion with a 100 percent knockout ratio, Beterbiev will fight for the first time since knocking out Oleksandr Gvozdyk in a highly anticipated world title unification bout last October. A two-time Russian Olympian, Beterbiev has never fought in his home nation as a professional and will do so against Deines, a fellow Russian who now calls Germany home. Deines has won two in a row since a decision loss to Meng Fanlong, while Beterbiev has made three world title defenses since winning the vacant IBF world title with a 12th-round stoppage over Enrico Koelling in November 2017.

In the ESPN-televised co-feature, a WBO light heavyweight world title eliminator, No. 1-ranked contender Umar Salamov will face No. 2-ranked contender Maxim Vlasov, with the winner expected to fight Joe Smith Jr. for the vacant world title. Both Salamov and Vlasov recently signed promotional contracts with Top Rank.

Leave a Comment

shares